Back to the Beginning: Dangerous Mistakes (posted Apr. 16, 2009)


Naps are helpful to recharge a tired injured brain throughout the day. As a person who used to sleep probably no more than 7 hours a night, having to take naps during the day feels really un-cool and weak. So be it, it is what it is.

This morning I got up, fed the animals, checked email and was pretty much done by 8am. I had to rest.

I find one of the oddest things with Brain Injury is the way the brain seems to work against itself in healing. Insomnia is huge. One would think, it’s simple, injured brain needs rest, but the last two nights I’ve been awake into the early hours of the morning even after sleep meds. Prior to the accidents I never needed any help sleeping, ever!

This morning’s ‘nap’ turned into 3 hours and I’m glad I got up when I did. I do have an afternoon appointment, but more so if I hadn’t returned back up here, I wouldn’t have found the space heater still on. The clear fire hazard scares me, and wasting electricity and money disheartens me at a time when money is beyond tight.

Some mistakes are costly, embarrassing, awkward, but some are downright dangerous. It is strange living with yourself when you feel you can’t trust yourself…

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

