Back to the Beginning: Busy Weekend (posted July 27, 2009)


Okay, well, it was a busy weekend for me. LOL!

It’s been very hot here, so work comes in spurts with a lot of breaks. It’s about 65 degrees outside and it’s only 5:30 am. Unusually warm for us, the office up here got to 90 yesterday and the rest of the house was 80 despite all drapes drawn, fan blowing.

I’ve made some headway (love that word for Brain Injury!) with the mounds of paperwork that seem to multiply every time I turn away. Hard to believe I was once a file clerk in a corporate headquarters!

eBay sales have been dismal, at best. My like new Sony .mp3 player sold for a whopping $11.50, all accessories, battery, ten extra discs, software, manuals, etc. It’s almost like paying someone to take things from you!

craigslist isn’t going much better. Friday I gave the Brita countertop pitcher and 8 filters to Barb and Larry for their home. It’s nice to give back, even if just a little bit, these days. I’ve been in need for so long, it feels good to give.

I did make an appointment for an eBay seller to take a look at my Barbie collection, that will be Wednesday morning. So, at any rate, I feel I am making progress, step by step, getinng ready to move where ever.

Since it was too hot up here most of the afternoon, I decided to try to see if I could copy more of my VHS tapes to DVD. I’m such a slow learner, for someone who ‘got’ things so quickly before, acceptance bah! It’s constant work, really.

I did go through quite a few videos to donate to various places.

Lack of short-term retention, poor reading comprehension, difficulty making sense of things, difficulty learning new things, it is a constant cycle. It’s just weird.

No, I didn’t use to be this way. I did have a memory of being in college after big layoffs in the mid 90’s. I was taking computer classes for Administrative Assistant degree and while the teacher was instructing the class I was looking ahead and doing the homework so I never had homework to do at night! Big change from that whiz kid.

I’m getting boxes of things together for people, the tea set to go to a lady at church, along with some beautiful tea books, some Christian artwork to go to Brother Frank.

I also have some things I’d like to donate to rehab, wondering if they’ll take the treadmill for someone who is re-learning how to walk, the exercise ball I have, and some of the fitness videos I’m either giving away or have copied…like Yoga. That’d be good for recovering folks.

I’ll need to have someone in-the-know to look at my meager coin collection, and jewelry. That’s the bummer about having all this stuff is finding out what it’s worth, it’s a lot of work, big research project.

Today I’m planning on staying primarily inside and getting as much done as I can. Still have paperwork to do, but at least with a start on the filing, it’s not such an overwhelming chore.

I’m finding the body pain is pretty much settling into my neck, left Achilles tendon, right knee. I can’t seem to walk right as to not cause pain to my Achilles or right knee. I’ve put a bandage around my knee to see if that doesn’t help me mentally check in and try to remember we all need to get to the same location at the same time!

A lot of the day yesterday was making sure I was copying the VHS to DVD right. I watched PBS’ American Masters show on Carol Burnett I’d taped, some PBS cooking shows, and my favorite, and glad I kept it, was Dateline’s “A Twist of Fate”. It’s an awesome story…Google it if you’d like to know more, it’s about severe Brain Injury and an incredible commitment and love. It’s one of those ‘other worldly’ types of stories you feel are blessed despite all the difficulty. Courage, grace, healing. Beautiful.

I’m off to get breakfast for the animals and self, I’ve been waking up really, really early. Some days as early as 2am and unable to go back to sleep. Naps are imperitive. I was thinking of trying to come up with some humorous t-shirts for Brain Injury, like, “Don’t come between me and my nap!” Something funny, but not deragatory or mean.

Have a good day everyone, I think with all the fans blowing, windows open, etc., I may have gotten the heat down to 73 or 74! Whoa boy!

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

