Back to the Beginning: Brain Injury Attorney (posted Apr. 11, 2009)


I inquired of an attorney for this auto accident as I was concerned the at-fault party’s insurance would back out and I would be left paying bills I cannot afford and I’d lose my house.

Life on the edge is not where I prefer to live. I lost my need for speed, excitement, adventure and risk when I was first injured on the freeway in 2002.

The intake call was last week, only a half an hour, but answering so many questions, I slept for three hours afterwards!

Today I spoke with an attorney, again more questions, but it was helpful, as was talking to the receptionist who did the intake. The inexpressible comfort of being at home in the company of those who understand and where explaining ad nauseum need not happen.

At this point it’s just information gathering, but they have been very helpful. I’m not one of those litigious people who look for reasons to file a lawsuit, but this is also my life and I need to be diligent about now and my future. After all, this is the Fight of My Life and I have a new normal to adhere to.

I was so tired this morning I could hardly stay awake and fell asleep right before the call. He was late calling, which was fine, that gave me a few more moments of rest. Still tired am I, but have to focus on today’s house chores. I need to try to get myself organized, the routine I had before this accident was washed away and must still be out on the road I got hit on!

I’ve just got to get my act together, I feel like I’m walking around like a chicken with her head cut off.

The attorney suggested I look into increasing my PIP coverage because more brain injuries means things get worse. And, every time I get into that car I’m at risk of getting hurt. Will look into it, even though money is stretched like it’s rubber!

I believe there is a way through. The house is indeed all I have left at this point and the reality, despite my denial and ardent fighting to make it be another way is this, Brain Injury is my life now. Dang, I’m a fighter, working so hard to get better, trying to undo my head injuries.

But, I do find if I focus on healing (wholeness of spirit and heart) and spirituality, life doesn’t sting so much and there is both strength and courage to try again.

“Courage doesn’t always roar. Sometimes it is the quiet voice at the end of the night saying ‘I will try again tomorrow.'”
– Mary Anne Radmacher

(Mary Anne’s website:  http://maryradmacher.com/ and on Twitter:  https://twitter.com/#!/Ma_Radmacher )  She is a beautiful soul.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

