Back to the Beginning: Brain Injury and Work (posted Apr. 18, 2009)


I’m getting slammed with reports this weekend, still up, past my bedtime, having just rested, decided to blog for a quick moment.

My co-workers have dropped off work for me to do and it’s tough to feel that pressure to get things done in such a short time period. Short for me because things take so long to get done, and taking so many rest breaks means everything takes longer!

One of the appraisers is sick with “the crud” so getting things to me this weekend have taken him longer than planned. He said he just didn’t know what to do, he goes back to the office and is so tired, he leans his chair back and sleeps for a couple hours. He’s so tired all the time and needs to take naps.

I couldn’t resist and jokingly said it sounds like my life!

It was kind of good for me to have a reminder how different this life is from the way I used to live, and what everyone else considers ‘normal.’ Heck, I did a little work in the yard, simply mixing up Round Up and spraying weeds, didn’t work long, but you bet I rested before, during, and after.

It is a different life, yet we look so normal. If we have a good day and accomplish much, people think we’re not motivated the next day, lazy, or whatever, when in reality, we are doing the best we can everyday.

Who in the heck would choose this? Whoo hoo! Sign me up, for days of multiple naps, or a long nap, no music, no TV, no noise, no social life, struggling financially. Jiminy!

The appraiser said about the email he sent it wasn’t a d!@# you! It was just a note to remind me when he sees my mistakes. I laughed and said I know, it’s just getting it through to my brain is something else. I used to book millions of dollars in sales in the corporate world, ran a satellite office, and now I can’t do reports right.

Some days I’m on and can do pretty well, but really, most of the time I make mistakes I’m completely unaware of. Heck, if I leave the heater on unattended at home, it’s pretty reasonable I’m making spacey mistakes on reports and in other areas of life.

Something will seem okay or the right thing to do in my mind only to find it’s wrong by everyone outside of my head! We may look fine, but wow, the wires that are crossed most of the time inside. It is frustrating and bewildering. It is a very tough thing to try to build a stable life upon.

Tonight I went to switch a light switch that wasn’t there. Oh my gosh! I lived here seven years.

The brain is an odd thing, and as the old commercial used to say, “A mind is a terrible thing to waste!”

Amen to that!

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

