Back to the Beginning: Alpha Dork (posted Apr. 4, 2009)


Making mistakes is one of the humbling parts of life with TBI…though they vary in number and severity. I have often jokingly called myself the Alpha Dork, and well, today it is quite fitting.

I was looking for my cell phone just now, went to my purse where I carry it, wasn’t there, came back in here, it was right here on the desk next to where I set the wireless keyboard down. Oh holy duh!

Taxes are done, I ended up paying which bites considering I don’t make a whole heck of a lot and am struggling to keep the house, with Unemployment taking out their fair share, I thought I was safe. Not so. I could not believe I had to pay, a shock I was not prepared for.

Glad I haven’t cashed the small check for my car being totaled. And, I think I dropped a pair of sunglasses there too. (I had my darkest shades on and these were in my pocket, dang it, they were my favorite pair too! I will go back Monday and see if they’re in the lost and found. Not the first time I’ve tried leaving my favorite pair behind somewhere. Ugh, (Calgon, take me away!)

My biggest faux pas today was a friend asked me to alter a scanned image of his artwork to remove any identifying information, make it more visible, etc., and send it via email to my friends as an anonymous Easter gift. Oh my gosh, I sent out the wrong flipping image! I sent the one WITH the identifying information he asked me to remove. Lovely…and I was SO proud of myself for getting it sent out first thing this morning when I was SURE my brain bank was full. Sigh.

Oh boy, what a day! It’s tough forgiving oneself when being an Alpha Dork seems to come so naturally and even I’m surprised by my mistakes. We’re a society of over achievers! Gotta try to find the humor in it and know this to shall pass. And people close to me wonder why I haven’t had the same confidence in myself I had before. Are you kidding? I live with me all the time!

Any wonder why we TBIers have a tough time keeping a job? Not many employers are looking for employees who are slow and make a lot of mistakes. God help us! Oh so much of this journey no one sees, yet we look fine…

Blessings everyone.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

