Back to the Beginning: Again, no help…wow… (posted July 30, 2009)


I finally got all my information to Modest Needs, oh the joy of paperwork with Brain Injury. Anywhoo, this is their reply:

7.23.09 – Thanks for applying to Modest Needs. Please note that we can only process your application with verification of your layoff within the past 90 days due to the current economic downturn. Best wishes to you!

7.30.9 – thanks for sending documents. Unfortunately, it appears that you will not be eligible for a Bridge Grant at this time. This grant is designed to support those who were recently laid off and made at least $250 more than their rent per month prior to their layoff. From your paystub, your average monthly income this year was $758 – which does not bring you to meet our self-sufficiency standard.  However, it sounds like you are in the process of perhaps getting SSDI income benefits – so once you are within 30 days of receiving these benefits that bring your household income to at least $250 more than your rent, please re-apply at that time. Thanks so much!

I also, in a wild hair moment, contacted Nintendo to see if they would donate a Wii to our rehab because we do want to get better. Declined!

I have received the documentation for my lender, we’ll see how this goes. If I were in baseball, ha, I probably wouldn’t have a job because my batting average would suck considerably. Such is life. I have less than 30 days to get that documentation prepared and returned.

Sigh.

My dog just climbed the stairs to the office which is really cool of her, to still be able to do. I think the heat has zapped her energy and me giving her cool baths has helped a lot. I’m going to go give her another one right now.

I really don’t think anyone can possibly fathom the difficulty on this path, not just for me, but for very many. The closed doors, the betrayal of trusted friends, the ongoing loss, the rejection, the constant beating down of one’s spirit is hard to take. I am learning a lot about the unlovely side of human nature, but believe the only thing that will bring anyone back from the edge is unconditional love.

I’m still here, still fighting, still making waves, because that’s who I am! 🙂

Bath time for Rudy, my favorite dog in the entire world! 🙂

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

