Back to the Beginning: Unemployment and Incredibly, Incredibly GREAT News about Dad (posted Sept. 9, 2008)


I Spoke with a Human at Unemployment!

What a relief, after nearly 20 minutes on hold, I got to speak to a real person, and one with a sense of humor too. Thank God! I don’t have to fill out the 6-page questionnaire and they’re determining whether I’m actually eligible to receive benefits or not (even though earlier I was told I was eligible for an extension and later, a new claim.)

Due to the high unemployment rate, she told me they’ve been swamped and apologized for the horrible wait and the confusion with the paperwork. She said the extension of benefits added a lot to their workload. She was really sweet and helpful and I told her how much I appreciated her help. I also asked for the best days or times to call as I’m calling from a cell phone with limited minutes. She was dear, she said Thursdays are the best days to call. Thank God that’s over. If I don’t receive word from them by next week, call them back then, this typically takes 4-6 weeks for them to make their decision.

Deep breath in, deep breath out. Onto the next task!

Incredible, Incredibly GREAT News About Dad!

My Step Mom just called and put my Dad on the phone. Not only did I get to talk to him for only the third time via phone since his surgery in June, but, get this – if everything goes well, he will be going home the end of next week! They’re targeting Friday the 20th!!!

Is that awesome or what?! Considering there was a point where the doctors didn’t think he would make it, this is a precious miracle.

Thank you SO very much for your prayers. He will still have a long recovery ahead of him, but thank God, he will get to be back in the comfort of his own home.

It’s been three months since his surgery, most of it he spent in ICU on life support. Phew. I am elated, tremendously grateful and in awe.

I was so excited at the news I was jumping up and down like a little child at Christmas. This…is the greatest gift ever. Let’s par-tay!!!

Blessings.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

