Back to the Beginning: Update on House (posted Sept. 16, 2008)


Hi everyone,

One of the resources that initially turned me down (and like so many apologized they couldn’t help more) contacted me about my roof. He said when they inspected the house they noticed the roof needed replacing. If funds were available and the bid would come in within their budgetary limits, they would replace my roof.

I signed papers today authorizing them to do the work as well as track my heating expenses because it should make a difference over the long-term. As far as I know, it’s a go, but as always in situations like this I am cautiously optimistic. I’ve learned the hard way about having too much hope when one is in dire need.

Also, the gentleman from support group who said his group may be able to help me gifted me with a small amount to cover some utilities. I am truly grateful for any and all help as awkward and embarrassing as it is. But, because he is in our Brain Injury support group, he knows very well this long arduous path we face, so help from a fellow trench-mate comes with deep validation and understanding. Fellow sojourners just know the struggle so there’s no retelling my story, explaining things over and over again.

I will not cash the check until I have a thank you note (or letter) written and in the mail. I don’t want anyone thinking for a split second that I have any sense of entitlement or any of that other yucky stuff that can come along when people help others. I want them to know I am truly grateful.

This is very helpful, especially since DSHS cut my food budget over $60. Ouch. So, I have to stretch things a little farther than initially planned.

That’s about it so far for today, I am taking a bunch of items I researched on eBay to see if they would sell and since they won’t I’m taking them to a local charity thrift store. I don’t feel like I have much to give these days, but it does feel good to give to them because they really do a lot to help folks in this community. It’s one of the few ministry-driven second hand stores I know of in the area.

Thanks so much everyone, for your prayers and support. I am encouraged and strengthened by your blessed help and friendship…more than words can convey.

Blessings!
RH

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

