Back to the Beginning: Tying Up Loose Strings (posted Oct. 2, 2008)


Hi Everyone,

I haven’t written in my blog for a couple days because I am overwhelmed. Here are some updates…

Roof: Done, signed off, and it’s beautiful! It was a miracle as their funds have dried up and will no longer be able to help people needing roof help. I am blessed, it wasn’t a need I even realized and am ever so grateful. The house matches the detached shed now, it looks much nicer, and I am relieved. What a blessing, indeed!

Unemployment: I am hoping today’s call will be the last. This has been going on since August. If things go through, I will be set for winter, I will let DSHS know as soon I hear so they can discontinue food benefits.

Housing resources: I am still on my own with this, and it is exhausting me. I met with the Social Worker at rehab yesterday and honestly – we’re all doing the same thing, looking high and low for resources to help myself and others with disabilities keep homes. Hard to believe the path hasn’t already been cut by someone ahead of me on this journey.

Weather: The weather here is changing so I rented a pressure washer Sunday for my deck. It was too much for me, just the pressure washing wore me out and I am still recovering. I stained it, but not as well I would have liked.

The cost of overdoing: Exhausted beyond belief, making mistakes like locking myself out of the house. When I’m stressed, my brain and body go back to how they were right after the car accidents, can’t think straight, I can’t even walk straight, a LOT of body pain, all too much, too much, too much. Just the very vibration of the pressure washer undid me, despite the high decibel earplugs and heavy duty ear protection muffs over them. If ever I can afford it, I will have to have someone else do. I am still recovering! Yes, that exhausted. Amazing, isn’t it? Pressure washing is such a simple thing!

My plans: I have to get rest in order to be able to get anything productive done. Then, I will be back to the computer searching online for resources.

I am glad for the change in weather, that means no more yard work, and more time for rest in between work and getting things sold on craigslist and eBay.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

