Back to the Beginning: Roof Work Continued (posted Sept. 23, 2008)


The roofers arrived around 9:00 this morning for another full day of work. I left to go to the farmer’s market and run some errands briefly. I juice fresh veggies and fruit for myself and my dog (who has Cancer), so the fresher the better and nothing beats the local farmer’s market.

Goofy me, not realizing still how much of a toll yesterday’s noise had taken, made a couple faux pas. First, I thought the farmer’s market opened at 9:00 so I cut my morning routine and left the house as the roofers arrived. You do have to get there early before they sell out, but not that early before they open! [Sigh.] One would think I hadn’t gone to this farmer’s market before, I had, every week last summer and this summer, the last time I went was two weeks ago. Oh brother!

I decided to run my other errands, but none were open either, so I went to bide my time by going to McDonald’s drive through and then eat at the parking lot of the next destination. Okay, I know one day I’ll find a lot more humor in this, I ordered a Croissanwich. That would have been fine if I had been at Burger King. Oh my gosh, I was so embarrassed.

I’m writing this at 6:00 pm and honestly, I have to go lie down to rest. It’s dinner time, but as can be the case, I can either eat or sleep. And right now, my brain bank is out of brain bucks and I need rest.

Blessings dear readers – thank you kindly for your prayers and support.  I am feeling a strange sense of peace despite how things look to these human eyes. I feel your prayers, support, and warm thoughts.

The roof is really coming along, they pretty much finished the back half of the house, and it’s beautiful. I doubted my color choice yesterday, but I am liking it much more now that it’s up there. What a blessing and a relief this house is being taken care of.

Oh well, my ongoing brain injury jokes are, “I learn something new everyday, but only God knows how much I forget each day!” When I make mistakes I can sometimes joke, “It’s not that big of a deal, it’s not like I’m going to remember it.” There are a couple of benefits of memory loss, I guess, humor helps.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

