Back to the Beginning: Roof Work, Brain Injury and Noise (posted Sept. 22, 2008)


This will be brief because the roofers are working, although I am exhausted, this is a good example of Brain Injury and noise sensitivity.

The roofers arrived around 9:30 this morning and while I expected a lot of noise, I was ill prepared. I found myself shaking and becoming agitated from the noise overhead. I ate breakfast and returned to my bedroom (my safe haven).

To say I’m sensitive to noise is an understatement. It’s polar opposite of how I used to be. You see, I grew up with a brother who played drums yet I was able to ‘tune’ that out, pardon the pun, was able to concentrate, read and study.

An injured brain isn’t able to filter or tune out noises, it hears everything. Realizing I was getting into a panicky state, I put in my highest decibel protection earplugs. They helped calm my nerves. I often say post-injury it feels like my nervous system is on the outside now.

Excessive noise can affect my balance, make me feel dizzy, feel like I’m experiencing an earthquake. I did have one incident this morning where the pounding (before earplugs) had me “furniture surf” as we call it when we use furniture, walls, etc., to steady ourselves. I have seen other TBIers shake and sway when there’s too much noise and they have to go to a quiet place until they can function again.

I am grateful, I just wish I had the foreknowledge to ask if I needed to be here and would have gone to the library or someplace quiet.

This is typical for me, one reason I am a shut-in is I’m highly sensitive to movement, lights, sound. I’ve had people ask me if I have considered a roommate, and I have, but I know I would not be able to handle it. Even with these earplugs in, as I type this, pound, pound, pound, pound, pound, pound overhead is starting to affect me. I’m getting that flight response, glad it’s flight, not fight!

A good illustration (and funny too!) is the Far Side comic strip where the student has his hand in the air, and asks the teacher if he can be excused, his brain is full! Our brains do get full, and for us, we often need a lot quiet and rest to recover.

I’m off to definitely try to rest as much as I can.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

