Back to the Beginning: Heat Assistance…Contradiction in Terms? (posted Dec. 23, 2008)


Today I had an appointment scheduled for heat assistance as I was told on October 31 I qualified for but would have to make another appointment. No big deal I thought having just been seen…

Well, I learned they only open up appointments on ONE day of the month and if you don’t get through that day via phone or online, you have to wait another month just to TRY to schedule an appointment for the following month if you’re so lucky as to get through.

November 18 they opened up appointments for December and today, the 23rd was the earliest I could get.

We have 12 inches of snow here, I have no snow tires, no traction devices, so I haven’t left the house since last Wednesday night before the snow and ice settled in. It’s not like any of it has melted. I did go for a short walk this morning to test the road conditions and it was slick even on two feet. I’ve heard the postal folks can’t even get through their routes and UPS is trying to do its best to make it from place to place.

I called the heat assistance office yesterday and left two messages, I emailed them Sunday and heard nothing back until 1:00 pm today. She said she didn’t know why I had called. I explained.

She said today and tomorrow morning are the makeup days for the appointments missed because of the snow. I laughed and told her my car is buried and more snow is predicted for tonight. She said the only other thing I can do because I had an appointment is when I can come in just come in and wait.

She said there is no telling how long I would have to wait to be seen. Nice. What is the point of making an appointment and having to wait two months then when I had already been told I qualified? Oh how I hate these systems that do not make sense.

All appointments for January are already taken, as I learned when I left my message.

I always understood if you couldn’t make an appointment, you called and would be rescheduled for another time…not left to just go and wait in hopes they can see you. Wow. That would be very tough on my Brain Injury, I already know that.

At this rate, even once I go in for the appointment it can take several months before you actually receive assistance, so it may be spring before I actually get the help I need right now. Sigh.

Maybe heat assistance really isn’t that…maybe it’s a different type of heat like how mad they can make people by their lack of compassion and logic! Just another number in the system…

Life is tough in the big woods!

Our family canceled Christmas Eve dinner because travel is difficult for everyone.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

