Back to the Beginning: Escape (posted Dec. 28, 2008)


I escaped today! I tried to get out of the house yesterday but with snow, even in an old pickup truck, I ended up slipping, sliding, and then sinking into the mud underneath the slush.

I was able to rock the truck back and forth yesterday to get it unstuck and then promptly parked it back in its bare spot. I then put down some salt, wished it away and let it be.

I’ve been housebound since December 18th when all the snow started. Initially it was quite beautiful and fun because it wasn’t the typical wet, heavy snow like we have now, it was light and there was a lot of it.

Today I took the car, it is front-wheel drive, I’ve driven in the snow before my car accidents and it was hilarious. I kept sliding and slipping and backed up into the bare spot to get a little run at the incline to get out and then would get stuck, again and again I did this not knowing if it would work or not and giggling like a little girl.

Fortunately I made it out and did not end up getting stuck in the middle of our street! I got to do a little shopping at Target and at Costco. Exhausting, but very nice to be out of the house. I also went to the Dollar Tree, and the music there always interferes with my brain waves. LOL! Where are my earplugs?

I bought some kitty litter there in the event I got stuck coming back up my hill. I didn’t get stuck so I went out and poured in into the tracks that were made because I had a good run at that hill before I got to my house.

Funny thing was, I didn’t exactly drive straight into my parking space, I sort of slid sideways and somehow ended up straight. Again I was giggling like a little girl. Hilarious and grateful to have made it home and not have to worry about abandoning my car and walking (slipping!) up the hill. Last thing anyone with a TBI needs, is to fall and risk further injury.

I don’t feel too bad finally getting out today, I overheard a gal at Target saying the very same thing, she couldn’t get out until today. And on the news garbage pickup has been delayed for all this time. I shudder to think of trying to get my garbage can to the bottom of the street.

It felt good to get out and get to the Post Office finally to get my mail. I was getting a little stir crazy staying home all that time, working on eBay and craigslist, but honestly, struggling with being bored to the bone.

Our street is in the shade so it will take some melting yet, I also more sprinkled salt to hurry the process! Hopefully the kitty litter will help my neighbors get by, one got stuck in front of my house the other day.

I have often wondered how other friends I know with TBI do staying home almost all the time, they use public transportation they have to schedule in advance, but now I know what it is like to be housebound and really stuck at home. It is not easy.

Lesson learned, I gained a lot of appreciation for those who can be at home and not go a little stir crazy. It really is a different world we live in where too much stimuli from music, TV, movies, trying to read, retain, recall, etc., makes times like these just a little more challenging and restless.

Sometimes our homes really can feel more like prisons than a nurturing place of peace, rest, hope, etc. We take a lot for granted, like being able to be social, and having the freedom to come and go as we please.

I am relieved to have had a chance to get out and about, it felt great! Escape is good for the soul every once in a while.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

