Back to the Beginning: Disability Catch-22 (posted Oct. 6, 2008)


Okay, so, following the advice of the Social Worker I met with last week, I called my lender. The SW said she had another client in my position, he called his lender and they worked things out, that’s all it took. I called, was then transferred to the Collections Department to speak with someone about a Disability program or services if they have any.

Guess what?

Since I’m still current on my payments and have not yet gone into foreclosure they can’t help me! People! This is what I am trying to keep myself from. I want to keep my house and excellent credit but run into this same issue over and over again as though I am living in Bill Murray’s “Groundhog Day.”

The Collections lady tells me to call HUD, and gave me the 800 number. I was relieved, since the local HUD agency certainly didn’t help me at all other than give me a depressing look at bankruptcy I didn’t expect.

I called the 800 number and the automated service referred me back to the same agency  (HUD) where I attended the Bankruptcy class and who had absolutely no resources, or any idea of resources.

Holy cow, where to all the Disabled people in my shoes go? I am not the first person to experience this!

Calgon, take me away!!!

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

