Back to the Beginning: Dealing with Unemployment (posted Sept. 9, 2008)


Okay – here we go on this crazy journey of dealing with Unemployment. I was told I was eligible for an extension of benefits early last month – yeah, I thought.

I received the paperwork, sent it in right away. Nothing happened.

I called. They said I was eligible for a new claim. Okay…I guess that’s good. I received the paperwork, sent it in right away. Nothing happened.

I called again. They said there was a question about my availability. Yes, you guess it, more paperwork. I received it, sent it right away. Nothing happened.

I called. They said because of this issue with my availability they needed to know why I wasn’t seeking full-time work. I was, I said, but I cannot work full-time. They need, yes, you guessed it, more paperwork, this time from my doctor.

I received the paperwork, sent it immediately to my doctor and waited. She was to have returned it to Unemployment by August 28. Yeah, I thought, this was over.

Not so….sigh…

I called last week as I’ve been unable to file claims, I can only check on my claim status which hasn’t changed from the middle of last month.

I called. This has taken over a month for them to fiddle around regarding my benefits. I can’t help but wonder when we will have to get attorneys to go get our Unemployment benefits for us!

Today I received more documentation in the mail, and get this, there is a six-page questionnaire asking why I “voluntarily quit my job.” I didn’t quit! All told, I received ten pages from Unemployment! Insanity! Insanity, I tell you!!

I only have a cell phone with limited minutes and trying to get through to the department is like playing Russian Roulette. You can go all the way through pushing the buttons, even entering your SSN only to get to a recording saying “Due to high call volumes we’re unable to take your call at this time, please call back later.”

Oh my gosh! I just tried calling again twice, same thing. This has been over a month without benefits. This is just crazy. If I’m eligible, fine. If I’m not, fine. Why the crazy rat race???

Oh my gosh, I am SO frustrated!!!!  It takes me a tremendous amount of energy to make phone calls because of my slowed processing.  Oh joy, oh bliss…my brain is fried!!

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

