Back to the Beginning: Christmas 2008 (posted Dec. 29, 2008)


This Christmas was probably one of the most difficult I recall. Being housebound due to the snow, I did not have any sort of special Christmas dinner, the first in my life. It was rather strange, a change I had not planned on.

Our family canceled Christmas due to weather. We’ll get together in March for Dad’s birthday. Hopefully I can go visit before then, that’s a long time.

I don’t own a lot of movies because I’m not one to sit and watch movies. I have been trying to read “The Story of Edgar Sawtelle” and love the subtleties of dog training, but because of Brain Injury, I can’t retain details necessary to understand and link the story, previously a relaxing hobby is now strenuous.

Overall, I guess I felt out of sorts, not knowing what to do with myself and the loneliness I experienced, feeling guilty for not having much Christmas spirit. What to do when housebound, Brain Injured, alone?

I did happen to watch Oprah and see a great story about her O Ambassadors. They’re teens who are making a difference around the world. This story highlighted 12 teens who went to Africa to build a school. None of these students had construction experience, and their training took form of a 30-minute lecture, then they were told to go build!

The U.S. students got to see and experience real poverty, beyond their beautiful handiwork of building the new school was their beautiful heart work as they connected with the incredible African children. I cried! It reminded me what one in our Brain Injury support group said, “That is the King’s wages, the feeling you get when you help another person.”

These teens were doing what I used to love, it’s that connection with people, the priceless part of helping others, my gosh, I miss that so terribly much!

It was such a beautiful story to watch and feel that positive, healing spirit and energy when people reach out to others in need. This group was so touched by those children who pray to be able to go to school, they returned at another time to dig a well so the children would have safe drinking water. It was one of the most inspiring things I have seen in a long time, and don’t we need more of that these days?! Those teens raised all the money for building the school and digging the well. Awesome!

If I ever get to volunteer again, I have to do something to change the lives of others. My heart, my love, have to be set free in that manner, to not do so is to not breathe! I still have that need to make a difference in this world and do something, be something, that matters for the greater good.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

