Back to the Beginning: A Beautiful Evening with Habitat for Humanity (posted Sept. 13, 2008)


I had a blessed evening Friday with a friend, we attended a Habitat for Humanity Dinner Fundraiser, she used to be the Volunteer Coordinator so she knew a lot of people.

(Little did I know it was formal – I wore clean jeans, nice western shirt, nice belt buckle, and dirty boots. Oh well, sometimes without a lot of time to rest in anticipation, I either have the energy to go or get dressed up, not usually both. I didn’t even wear makeup. Sigh. A funny little thing about Brain Injury, because I process things slowly, I do not wish to draw attention to myself.  I was afraid if I dressed up I would stand out.  Instead I stood out for not dressing up!)

It’s nice having someone else drive, especially when you have a Brain Injury because of the mentioned energy/stamina budget. I prayed God would sustain me. I knew I could excuse myself to take a break if need be, it’s a lot of stimuli to absorb.

It was wonderful getting to be social, to be around positive energy of good people gathering for the greater good. My spirit soaked it all in like a bone dry sponge!

There were times I wanted to cry. It’s strange – wanting to cry because I need help, but more so because I dearly miss volunteering. I took for granted I used to be able to go where I wanted to when I wanted to. Now I pace and plan everything. Even this evening out, I had to rest before we left and then could not get out of bed the following morning.

I appreciated the pastor who spoke of people regaining their dignity when they have a place all their own and will not be taken away. It made me wonder, if Habitat is set up to sponsor people, why couldn’t another organization be set up with accountability built in for those who have homes but are struggling to keep them. It’d be a case by case basis where all of the person’s financial standings are brought to light to verify need. Just thinking…still…how to change not only my life, but lives of countless others.

I am glad I got to go, to be a part of something beautiful and experience that wonderful energy! It did make me feel perhaps I’m not asking for too much by needing help with my house and all. I still feel very embarrassed I am in need of help. I am frustrated I cannot work full-time, frustrated more by all my limitations and lack of resources available to me, one who has fallen between the cracks. Were I able to manage any other way, I would not be posting my needs to the worldwide web.

I just want to have more life than survival, and, get back to giving again and being a part of something greater than myself.

If you’re interested in learning more about volunteer opportunities with Habitat, they are international and their website is http://www.habitat.org/. You can make a world of difference and get that great feeling a fellow TBIer shared with me, “That’s the Master’s wages, the good feeling you get from helping someone else.” Go get some Master’s wages for yourself! 🙂

Thanks for listening dear readers.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

